Councillor numbers to be cut

THERE will be 18 fewer councillor positions in this October's local government elections after Local Government Minister Bryan Green today accepted the recommendations from a recent Local Government Board review of councillor numbers.

Launceston, Brighton, Dorset, Derwent Valley, the Southern Midlands and the Waratah-Wynyard Councils all participated in the review.

While the former three councils have retained their numbers, Waratah-Wynyard will reduce from 10 to 8, Southern Midlands from nine to seven, and Derwent Valley from nine to eight.

Another review in 2012 spared Break O'Day's nine-member council but cut 13 positions from Central Coast, Devonport, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Glenorchy, Kingborough and Tasman councils.

Launceston and Hobart will be the state's only 12-member councils after this year's election when Devonport and Central Coast council numbers are reduced from 12 to nine, and Glenorchy and Kingborough councils are reduced from 12 to 10 members each.

Local Government Minister Bryan Green

Local Government Minister Bryan Green


Discuss "Councillor numbers to be cut"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.