Education: What's out there

June 21 2014 - 12:02pm

Senior Secondary Schools provide Year 11 and Year 12 education services to young students to support their achievement of the Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE), and supported pathways for their entry into the workforce or further education and training. Two senior secondary schools occur in the Northern Region, namely Launceston College and Newstead College. These schools provide students with pastoral care together with a diverse selection of academic and vocational courses, the latter of which may be provided in partnership with TasTAFE or other providers. During 2013, the administration of the Tasmanian Academy moved to the Early Years and Schools Division. This transition involved college principals and senior officers and was part of a strategy to support curriculum continuity for Kindergarten to Year 12. The Tasmanian Academy, which was a collective name for the eight senior secondary colleges, is no longer in use (as of Term 1, 2013), and colleges are now referred to as senior secondary schools (as of Term 1, 2013). 

Subscribe now for unlimited access.


(min cost $0)

or signup to continue reading

See subscription options

Get the latest Launceston news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.