Fairey Aviation was an English aeroplane manufacturer, founded in 1915 by Sir Richard Fairey.
Their seaplanes were perfect for a time in Australia when there were few airfields and aircraft range was limited.
Rivers and bays were natural airstrips and didn't present hazards like hills and tree stumps.
Six Fairey seaplanes were delivered to the Point Cook RAAF flying school in Melbourne at the beginning of 1922.
We got our first look at the new planes in October 1925, when Flight-Lieutenants McIntyre and Hemphill arrived at Lady Barron, on Flinders Island.
They were accompanied by a mechanic, wireless operator and post office official, and were surveying an airmail route from Melbourne to Hobart.
It was a unique experience for the Flinders Islanders, to have that very morning's Melbourne papers delivered to their door!
They were "overjoyed with the visit, and entertained the crews most loyally."
For their part, the surveyors decided that the sheltered bay at Lady Barron was ideal as a stop-over point.
The two planes were invited back to Tasmania for the Hobart regatta in January 1926, three months later, so that all Tasmanians could admire them.
With a bit of backroom lobbying by Premier Joe Lyons, the invitation was accepted and Navy air hero Flight-Lieutenant McIntyre again piloted one of the craft.
The planes arrived safely at Launceston for a two-day stop-over, threading their way through all the small boats.
On departure, and after buzzing the city for the benefit of locals, they turned for the heads.
In those days, seaplanes couldn't safely travel over land, so had to go back to the Strait and then follow the coast down to Hobart.
Plane A10-6 immediately struck trouble in an oil line, however, and they were forced to land at Beauty Point for repairs.
Crowds waiting for them in Hobart speculated that the windy day had forced the planes back to Victoria.
The wind then did play a part, when one of the planes was pushed into the Beauty Point pier, damaging a wing.
With the assistance of Deputy Harbourmaster Captain Williams, and after a comfortable night in the hotel for the pilots, residents were treated to a close-up view of the planes taking off again the next day.
The flight down the east coast was uneventful, and the planes landed at Sandy Bay on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, January 30, 1926, to a large group of waiting spectators.
Although no mechanical troubles recurred for the return trip, things again did not quite go smoothly.
The planes encountered strong north winds and heavily-reduced visibility due to bushfires along the coast.
This turned out well for the people of St Helens, when the planes were forced to land in Georges Bay for refuelling and decided to stay the night.
The whole town was treated to a glimpse of the future.