Gulbis wins Ponting Medal

TASMANIAN Tigers import Evan Gulbis nudged out young paceman Sam Rainbird on his way to winning the Ricky Ponting Medal in Hobart last night.

 Evan Gulbis

Evan Gulbis

The 28-year-old all-rounder, who made his Tasmanian debut in 2011 after previously representing Victoria, passed Rainbird in the Tigers' final Sheffield Shield match against South Australia, where he hit a record-breaking 229 not out and claimed 4-7 with the ball.

It was the highest score for a No. 8 batsman in Australian domestic cricket history.

Left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty finished third in the race for the state's best player.

Gulbis took out the one-day player of the year from Ben Laughlin and stand-in skipper Tim Paine and also won Cricket Tasmania chairman Tony Harrison's chairman's award.

Rainbird, in his breakthrough season, was judged the best in the longer format, winning the David Boon Medal.

Rainbird claimed career best figures of 6-68 during the season, finishing four votes ahead of Doherty and 16 clear of all-rounder Luke Butterworth.

Rainbird also won the Jamie Cox young player of the year award.

Tasmania's 2013-14 season was well below the high standards reached in the Tim Coyle era, with the Tigers failing to defend its Sheffield Shield crown and have any impact in the Ryobi Cup.

Three Tasmanians (Doherty, Ed Cowan and Ben Hilfenhaus) lost their Cricket Australia contracts this week, with Alex Doolan and Jackson Bird overlooked.

In the shortest form of the game, Ben Dunk, not surprisingly, was crowned the Hobart Hurricanes best and grabbed the inaugural MVP trophy, after scoring 348 runs that included the competition's fastest half century off 20 balls, as the franchise made the competition final.

For the Tasmanian Roar, under-18 captain Meg Phillips won the young female player of the year, while seniors skipper Veronica Pyke took home three awards - the Roar, WNCL and WT20 player of the year.

Other awards winners included Andrew Fekete (Scott Mason memorial captain's award), Callan Morse (Imparja Cup player of the year) and Sam Nogajski (state umpire of the year).


Discuss "Gulbis wins Ponting Medal "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.