McClure on track for title

THREE-TIME Australian street stock sedan champion Brad McClure, of Victoria, was in the box seat to claim a record fourth title at the Cranes Combined Speedway late last night.

After a perfect record of three heat wins from three races on the first night of the championship on Friday night, McClure backed up his final heat last night by charging through from grid 10 to finish fourth and secure pole position for the 40-lap final.

South Australian Steve Gartner, who has previously finished third in the title, started the night in fifth place and won his final heat to secure a front-row start in the final alongside McClure.

Spreyton's Corey Bauld, fourth after the first night, consolidated his first-night effort as the leading Tasmanian to qualify equal second with Gartner, but was bumped to grid three for the final with Gartner recording a slightly better fastest lap time for the weekend.

Former two-time Australian champion Anthony Beare, of South Australia, joined Bauld on the second row.

Former three-time Australian and 10-time Tasmanian champion Todd Auton, of Ulverstone, started last night in 12th place after puncturing a tyre in one of his heats on Friday night, but improved with a second place in his heat, to advance to grid seven for the final.

Defending champion Robbie Faux, of Victoria, struggled on Friday night, but showed his true potential in his only heat last night, beating Auton, to advance from 18th at the start of the night to grid eight for the final.

On the same program last night, former two-time Australian V8 super sedan champion Kevin Purton, of Deloraine, qualified on pole position for the 25-lap super sedan final in what was the last hit-out before the Tasmanian championship at the same track in two weeks.

RESULTS -  Late results from Friday night: MCP Metal Recycling Australian Street Stock Sedan Championship Heat 16: M Purdie (Vic.), 1; R Swasbrick (Vic.), 2; R Bransemer (Vic.), 3. Heat 17: B McClure (Vic.), 1; T Auton (Tas.), 2; L Clark (Vic.), 3. Heat 18: M Dann (Vic.), 1; M Templar (Tas.), 2; T Russell, 3. 

Powranna Plant Hite Formula 500 Statewide Series (round nine)  Final (15 laps): N Kingston, 1; M Kelly, 2; K Cruse, 3.

Wingless sprints  Final (15 laps): H McBain, 1; S Bissett, 2; J Smith, 3.

Tassie sixes  Final (12 laps): D Sonners, 1; M Cleary, 2; D Manser, 3.

Last night: MCP Metal Recycling Australian Street Stock Sedan Championship  Heat 19: A Beare (SA), 1; M Purdie (Vic.), 2; R Swarsbrick (Vic.), 3. Heat 20: L Clark (Vic.), 1; D Atkinson (Vic.), 2; M Templar (Tas.), 3. Heat 21: S Gartner (SA), 1; D Campton (Vic.), 2; W Vanzetti (WA), 3. Heat 22: D Flatman, (SA), 1; D Forrest (Vic.), 2; B Ferguson (Vic.), 3. Heat 23: R Faux (Vic.), 1; T Auton (Tas.), 2; M Clark (Vic.), 3. D Dolic (Vic., lap record, 17.124 secs), 6th. Heat 24: D Irving (Vic.), 1; J De Goldi (Vic.), 2; C Bauld (Tas.), 3. C main semi-final (18 laps): J Young (Tas.), 1; S Mason (Vic.), 2; D Campton (Vic.), 3. B main semi-final (20 laps): T Russell (Tas.), 1; R Throckmorton (Vic.), 2; J Oldfield (WA), 3; D Atkinson (Vic.), 4.

V8 super sedans  Heat one: S Hughes, 1; J Oldfield, 2; K Purton, 3. Heat two: K Purton, 1; S Hughes, 2; E Cole, 3.

Lightning sprints  Heat one: B Webster, 1; L Redpath, 2; J Redpath, 3 . Heat two: L Redpath, 1; P Brydon, 2; J Redpath, 3.

Wingless sprints  Heat one: J Smith, 1; H McBain, 2; J Padman, 3. Heat two: J Goodluck, 1; C Gallagher, 2; G Hoekstra, 3. Final (20 laps): L Redpath, 1; J Redpath, 2; B Webster, 3.

Junior sedans  Heat one: J Crossin, 1; J Dickerson, 2; E Dickenson, 3. Heat two: N Penno, 1; W Lello, 2; J Dickerson, 3. Heat three: J Crossin, 1; L Piper, 2; H Croft, 3. Final (15 laps): J Crossin, 1; N Penno, 2; H Croft, 3.


Discuss "McClure on track for title"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.