The demolition of the Old Scamander Bridge is on the horizon.
A development application was submitted to the Break O'Day Council by the Department of State Growth for the proposed demolition of the iconic structure.
The bridge was designed by prominent Tasmanian engineering Sir Allan Knight, with work beginning in November 1934. The construction cost was estimated at £12,000.
It was the second oldest Pratt truss bridge in Australia, and was officially opened in 1935 by then-Premier Albert George Ogilvie.
The bridge has been closed to vehicles since the new bridge was built in 1988, but has since remained open to pedestrians, cyclists, and fishers.
The proposed works would include the removal of the whole structure, piers and abutments, and rehabilitation works within the area of the abutments.
"The demolition of this bridge is considered necessary due to the declining integrity of the existing structure and the materials of which is is made, both of which could present a safety risk as the bridge deteriorates," the supporting report said.
For continued safe pedestrian access across the river, upgrades would be made to the New Scamander Bridge including widening of the footpath, installation of a new pedestrian fence, touch ups and cleaning of the existing fence, and updated line marking to indicate bike lanes.
Alternatives were considered, such as leaving it as is, replacing and maintaining the bridge, or closing the bridge to pedestrians, however it was decided demolishing the bridge was the best option.
This was due to the fact it is a "redundant structure" and does not serve a transport function on the State Growth network, and would need significant repairs for continued safe operation.
Representations can be made to the council until February 3.
Visit bodc.tas.gov.au for more information.