Two BBL fixtures confirmed for Launceston

Launceston’s two Big Bash League fixtures for 2018-19 have been confirmed.

The Hurricanes will host perennial contenders Perth Scorchers at UTAS Stadium on Sunday, December 30, from 7.15pm, before a second fixture against reigning champions Adelaide Strikers on Thursday, January 31, at 7.40pm.

The ’Canes will have a hectic Christmas-New Year period with Tasmania’s appetite for Twenty20 to be tested.

Adam Griffith’s men will play four home matches in Hobart and Launceston between Christmas Eve and January 4.

A season-high crowd of 16,734 fans packed UTAS Stadium for Northern Tasmania’s inaugural match last December.

The Hurricanes’ WBBL side will host the Brisbane Heat at the venue on Saturday, December 29 (at 2.10pm), and Sunday, December 30 (at 2.50pm).

Cricket Australia BBL head Kim McConnie said: “We are excited to announce our first ever full home and away fixture.

“This is a move that will take the competition to the next level, as we aim to bring more fast-paced on-field action and family-friendly entertainment to more fans across Australia than ever before.

“This summer, there will be 56 regular season matches, up from 40 last season, meaning each of the eight teams will play each other twice in addition to the two semi-finals and the final.

“The season will extend past school holidays, so as the competition moves into February, there will be more family-friendly timeslots on weekends to help drive participation.”


  • December 22 | v Heat at Metricon Stadium, 6pm
  • December 24 | v Stars at Bellerive Oval, 3.45pm
  • December 28 | v Thunder at Bellerive Oval, 7.15pm
  • December 30 | v Scorchers at UTAS Stadium, 7.15pm
  • January 4 | v Sixers at Bellerive Oval, 7.15pm
  • January 7 | v Renegades at Docklands, 7.15pm
  • January 14 | v Stars at MCG, 7.15pm
  • January 18 | v Scorchers in Perth, 6.30pm
  • January 21 | v Strikers at Adelaide Oval, 6.45pm
  • January 23 | v Sixers at SCG, 7.15pm 
  • January 29 | v Heat at Bellerive Oval, 4pm
  • January 31 | v Strikers at UTAS Stadium, 7.40pm
  • February 7 | v Renegades at Bellerive Oval, 7.40pm
  • February 9 | v Thunder at TBC, 6.15pm