Nathan Balym and Josh Adams notch tons in round of big wins

COOPED UP: Cressy batsman Mark Cooper hits a ball away on the leg side. Picture: Paul Scambler
COOPED UP: Cressy batsman Mark Cooper hits a ball away on the leg side. Picture: Paul Scambler

An unbeaten ton from Nathan Balym helped Hadspen stroll to a 153-run rout of ACL.

Balym carried his bat on his way to 107 not out, putting on 92 with Damian Woods (47) for the first wicket as the Chieftains powered to 3-233 from 40 overs.

Ash Batty was the pick of the Bluebacks’ attack, conceding just 13 off six overs, while John Kedey took 1-40 off eight.

ACL never looked like making a fist of the chase, falling to 3-11 from six overs with Simon Chappell, Tim Bunton and Matthew Oates all falling cheaply.

With their foot on the throat the Chieftains refused to let up as the dream team of Brad Eames (4-8) and Dion Beams (3-19) combined for seven wickets to roll ACL for 80.

Reigning premiers LONGFORD piled on a massive 4-298 on their way to a 184-run thumping of Diggers.

Skipper Josh Adams led the way for the Country Tigers with an unbeaten 119 while Dilan Sandagirigoda (44) and the returning Jackson Blair (45 not out) both made quick runs.

Adam Henderson was the pick of the bowlers for Diggers, taking 2-45.

Longford’s batting masterclass was then backed up by a similarly impressive bowling performance which saw Diggers dismantled for 114 courtesy of Kieran Davey (3-17) and Brett Martin (3-28).

Andy Bassett made 20 at the top of the order while Henderson provided late resistance with a knock of 25. 

CRESSY sentenced Legana to its third loss on the trot with a 55-run away win.

Mark Cooper (74) and Sam Graham (58) set up a formidable target of 5-248 with Aaron Dusautoy the Durhams’ sole multiple wicket-taker.

After crumbling to 8-120 on the back off a top spell from Sam Hendley (4-33), the Durhams made a late fightback through Jason Reed (37 not out) before being dismissed for 193 with 11 overs to spare.


Josh Adams 119*

Nathan Balym 107*

Mark Cooper 74

Sam Graham 58

Damian Woods 47

Brad Eames 4-8

Sam Hendley 4-33

Kieran Davey 3-17

Dion Beams 3-19

Brett Martin 3-28