2017 men’s senior amateur championships | Mowbray Golf Club

Five-time event winner Stefan Albinski, of Mona Vale.
Five-time event winner Stefan Albinski, of Mona Vale.

This year’s 54-hole men’s senior amateur championships at Mowbray Golf Club will see 55 players tee off on Wednesday.

Kingston Heath’s Gordon Claney, who won the 2014 Australian senior amateur and New South Wales senior open leader, will be among the favourites along with five-time event winner Stefan Albinski, of Mona Vale.

Former Tasmanian amateur champion Mike Leedham is the best local hope having claiming his sixth event last year. The field includes 28 mainland players looking to stake their claims for national selection to take on New Zealand later this month.


Tasmanian men’s and women’s amateur championships qualifying rounds will be held at Tasmania Golf Club on Saturday.

Defending men’s titleholder Joseph Trinder, of NSW, will not be taking part, while runner-up Richard Kube has shown good form winning the recent Southern Open.

Women’s reigning champion Sarah Johnstone is also not defending, leaving Georgia Milbourne with a strong chance on her home course.

Steve Toyne, of Queensland, is in town to defend his senior masters title.  


Launceston’s Josh Molendyk finished runner up in last week’s Australian mid-amateur championship at Links Lady Bay Resort in South Australia.

Victorian Mark Boulton won with rounds of 75, 72 and 74, while Molendyk finished strongly with 79, 73 and 71. Greg Longmore also competed and returned scores of 78, 75 and 84.


Orford won the bronze Stableford women’s event at Devonport on Monday with George Town runners up.

Beth Batchelor (39 points) and Helen Fox (41 points) were marginally better than George Town’s Vicki Towns (35 points) and Leonie Gordon (40 points).

Seabrook were third followed by Penguin, Prospect Vale and St Helens. Tania Thompson from Moorina had 41 points to take the individual honours.


Bridport held its club championship last weekend with former state team champion Anthony Toogood taking out the A-grade title.

Tim Russell won B-grade and C-grade went to David Glover.