Top award for Alexander Pearce film

A scene from the film. Publicity photo.
A scene from the film. Publicity photo.

THE Tasmanian docu-drama The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce has won the best documentary category at the prestigious 2009 Kodak Inside Film Awards.

Producer Nial Fulton thanked Screen Tasmania and the Tasmanian community for their warm welcome and support during production.

The Kodak Inside Film Awards are the people's choice awards for Australian films, celebrating and championing Australian film and creative talent.

The awards support and promote Australian cinema and television, and invigorate the national screen culture.

The docu-drama was written and directed by Michael James Rowland and stars Adrian Dunbar, Ciaran McMenamin and Chris Haywood.

The Last Confession of Alexander Pearce documents the final days of Irish convict Alexander Pearce in 1824 after his notorious escape from the penal colony in Macquarie Harbour.

Economic Development Minister Michael Aird congratulated Essential Media, the production company behind film.

“On behalf of the Tasmanian government through Screen Tasmania I would like to congratulate producer Nial Fulton, director Michael James Rowland and the entire team behind the film.

“This award adds to widespread recognition including a 2009 Samsung Australian Film Institute Award nomination and an Irish Film and Television Award nomination.

“In addition, composer Roger Mason recently won the best score category at the Australian Screen Music awards for his work on the film.

“Screen Tasmania invested considerable support and resources into the project, which employed numerous Tasmanian cast and crew during filming near Derwent Bridge in the State’s south-west.

“The film’s success and recognition as one of the best Australian films of 2009 highlights the depth of practitioner talent available in Tasmania, and has resulted in valuable exposure for the local screen industry," Mr Aird said.

The awards were presented by film luminaries including Baz Lurhmann (Australia, Moulin Rouge), Sam Worthington (Terminator Salvation, Avatar) and Jessica Marais (Packed to the Rafters).