Reigning winners go back-to-back

Longford's Jesse Arnol.

Longford's Jesse Arnol.

LONGFORD won their second straight TCL Twenty20 title on Thursday with a convincing 89-run victory over Tigers at Hadspen.

Captain-coach Josh Adams led from the front with a 77 in first innings to win the man-of-the-match medal and guide Longford to 7-188 off their allotted 20 overs..

He had good support from Dion Blair (30) and Kieran Davey (39 not out).

Tigers best bowler was Matt Devlin with 3-21 off four overs.

In reply, the underdogs struggled for significant partnerships and found themselves at 6-54.

Chris Plumbridge (20) top scored as Jesse Arnol (2-14), Adam Smith (2-30), Brett Martin (3-24) and Rob More (2-5) all performed.

Noel Fitch chipped in with a late 16.

Tigers were dismissed for 99 in 16.5 overs, losing their final four wickets for 45 runs.

The Country Tigers made it to the semi-final stage of the statewide T20 competition last season.