Forward move as league planned

THE Tasmanian Cricket League will proceed as planned with Trevallyn agreeing to field a Premier League team this weekend.

Cricket North administrator David Fry mediated talks between the player-dry club and league executives on Wednesday night with the TCL’s stance that Trevallyn must field a top-flight side in 2016-17 re-affirmed.

The league originally rejected a request from Trevallyn two weeks ago to withdraw from the competition on the grounds of player safety due to a mass exodus of top-end talent.

Trevallyn president Steve Cocker said the club had informed the TCL it would drop its A-Reserve team and field a Premier League, B-grade and C-grade side this week.

“We are disappointed with the outcome and the committee will meet on Tuesday next week to discuss and decide whether or not will pursue the matter further or decide to accept the decision and move forward,” Cocker said.

“Trevallyn remain totally committed and supportive of the TCL’s vision and support the relegation-promotion rules in place,” he said.

“However, we consider that our circumstances at this point clearly fall into the special circumstances  described in the motion passed by the TCL.”

Cocker said the club had fielded four sides for the past 20 years and that it was planning to return to that point from next season.

Relegated sides Legana and Perth are reportedly interested in re-joining Premier League should Trevallyn drop out.

TCL president Darrell Whyte said he recognised Trevallyn’s situation but pointed out that every club experienced ups and downs.

All five league competitions were moved back a week following heavy rain and waterlogged grounds.

“Some grounds are still unavailable with several games on both Saturday and Sunday moved to other grounds,” Whyte said.

“All clubs will be advised of any changes.”

Premier League will begin with round one and part of round two – Twenty20 matches – on Saturday with two points up for grabs per victory.

Reigning premiers Longford are in a pool with Hadspen, ACL and Trevallyn, while Beauty Point, Cressy, Tigers and Diggers will play each other for a spot in the finals.

Whyte said 40-over matches would start on October 29 with the league T20 final to be held at Hadspen on a date to be confirmed.