Hodgman names his cabinet

Premier-elect Will Hodgman has announced his new Liberal government cabinet in Hobart this morning.

There will be nine members of the cabinet and two parliamentary secretaries, covering a total of 24 portfolios. 

Denison MHA Elise Archer has been announced as the government's nomination for Speaker.

Ms Archer will become Tasmania's first female Speaker.  

Premier-elect Will Hodgman.

Premier-elect Will Hodgman.

Mr Hodgman has dealt himself tourism, hospitality and events, as well as Aboriginal affairs and sport and recreation.

His deputy, Braddon MHA Jeremy Rockliff, will take on the education portfolio, as well as primary industries and water, as well as racing.

Bass MHA Michael Ferguson will become the Health Minister, as well as taking on information technology and innovation.

Mr Ferguson will also be the Leader of Government Business in the House of Assembly, a position previously held by fellow Bass counterpart Michelle O'Byrne.

Bass MHA Peter Gutwein will be the Treasurer, and will also take on planning and local government.

Lyons MHA Rene Hidding will become Minister for Police and Emergency Management and will also take on the infrastructure portfolio, positions previously held by former Franklin MHA David O'Byrne, who lost his seat.

Pembroke MLC Vanessa Goodwin will become the new Attorney General and will also take on justice, corrections, arts, and will be the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

Denison MHA Matthew Groom will take on the new role of Minister for State Growth, a position created by the Liberal government, and will also be Minister for Energy, and take on the portfolios of environment, parks and heritage. 

Former Independent Huon MLC Paul Harriss will be the new Resources Minister.

Franklin MHA Jacquie Petrusma has kept her shadow portfolios and will be the Minister for Human Services and Women.

Newly elected Lyons MHA Guy Barnett will be Mr Hodgman's parliamentary secretary, and Braddon MHA Adam Brooks will be parliamentary secretary for small business and trade.

New-comer Braddon MHA Roger Jaensch will be the government whip.

Lyons MHA Mark Shelton will be the chair of committees and Deputy Speaker.

The new parliamentary Liberal party are meeting today in Hobart, and cabinet will be sworn in at Government House tomorrow.  


Discuss "Hodgman names his cabinet"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.