Big names and new tunes set for festival

Porter Robinson will take to the Breath of Life stage on Saturday.
Porter Robinson will take to the Breath of Life stage on Saturday.

BREATH of Life co-promoter Clint Pease says this year's music extravaganza will provide "another great day for Launceston" with a crowd of close to 10,000 expected at Inveresk Showgrounds.

"With the national and international line-up, and hopefully the weather gods smiling on us, it will just be another great Breath of Life," Pease told X-static this week.

Pease said ticket sales had been "solid" in recent weeks, with VIP tickets sold out and only general admission remaining.

This year, international acts Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and Public Enemy headline a bill that includes such names as Empire of the Sun, Drapht, Dead Letter Circus, Porter Robinson, the Stafford Brothers, Will Sparks, Parkway Drive and The Butterfly Effect.

"Art vs. Science have released a new single, and so there's new material that you can hear live for the first time, and then there's Macklemore and Lewis, who won three Grammys and is one of the biggest acts on the planet at the moment," Pease said when asked about some of the acts he expected to leave their mark at the festival.

For the first time this year, patrons of the festival will be given wrist bands upon entry, identifying them as either being over or under 18 years of age.

Anyone found on-site without a wrist band will be ejected.

There will be increased police and security at the festival.

Gates open at 10.30am.

Breath of Life is a fund-raiser for the Australian Lung Foundation.

Tickets are available from $129.95 from Mojo Music in Launceston, Collectors Corner in Burnie, Centertainment in Hobart, Red Hot CDs in Devonport and online here.



Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 10pm – 11pm

Empire of The Sun 8.30pm – 9.30pm

Public Enemy 7pm – 8pm

Art Vs Science 5.45pm – 6.30pm

Drapht 4.40pm – 5.25pm

PEZ 3.40pm – 4.25pm

Knife Party 2.30pm – 3.30pm

Porter Robinson 1.30pm – 2.30pm

Allday 12.35pm – 1.20pm

Kilter 11.45am – 12.30pm

Akouo 11am – 11.45am


Stafford Brothers 10pm – 11pm

Will Sparks 9pm – 10pm

SCNDL 8pm – 9pm

Ember 7pm – 8pm

Joel Fletcher 6pm – 7pm

Kronic 5pm – 6pm

Tigerlily 4pm – 5pm

J-Trick 3pm – 4pm

Dave Winnel 2pm – 3pm

Ash Tiffin vs Ceej 1pm – 2pm

Charley Venn 12.20pm – 1pm

Zankee Gulati 11.40am – 12.20pm

Michael Bilge 11am – 11.40am


Parkway Drive 9pm – 10pm

Dead Letter Circus 7.45pm – 8.30pm

The Butterfly Effect 6.45pm – 7.30pm

Buried In Verona 5.45pm – 6.30pm

In Hearts Wake 4.45pm – 5.30pm

Saviour 3.45pm – 4.30pm

Save The Clocktower 2.45pm – 3.30pm

Luca Brasi 1.45pm – 2.30pm

Opposer 12.45pm – 1.30pm

Rhino 11.45am – 12.30pm

Jesse Teinaki 11am – 11.45am


Discuss "Big names and new tunes set for festival"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.