Bailey, Faulkner selected

TASMANIANS received mixed news when the Australian squad for the upcoming World Twenty20  tournament was announced yesterday.

As expected, batsman George Bailey was named captain but spinner Xavier Doherty missed out while selectors expressed confidence in the recovery of all-rounder James Faulkner by declaring they expected him to be fit in time for the tournament in Bangladesh.

Cricket Australia named a 15-player squad for the tournament as well as three lead-up T20 matches against South Africa.

Having led Australia to a 3-0 clean sweep in the format over England, Longford's Bailey was never in doubt but the announcement represented another bitter pill to swallow for Doherty.

Less than a week after being overlooked by the Hobart Hurricanes in their crucial Big Bash League semi-final, the George Town product saw veteran Brad Hogg and James Muirhead claim the spinners' spots.

Meanwhile, national selector John Inverarity said Faulkner is recovering well from the knee surgery which destroyed his chances of joining the Test tour to South Africa. 

``He is expected to be fully fit for Bangladesh,'' he said. ``We will monitor his rehabilitation to see how he is progressing for the matches in South Africa.''

Victorian stalwart Brad Hodge was also rewarded for his BBL performances while Tasmanian-born wicket-keepers Matt Wade and Tim Paine saw the gloves go to another 30-something in Test incumbent Brad Haddin.

Inverarity believed the squad boasted plenty of experience playing the format in the sub-continent.

``We have a group with good depth in power hitting and a range of bowling options.''

Bailey and Haddin's fellow Ashes winners Mitch Johnson, Shane Watson and David Warner were also given the nod.

AUSTRALIAN T20 SQUAD:  George Bailey (captain, Hobart Hurricanes), Dan Christian (Brisbane Heat), Nathan Coulter-Nile (Perth Scorchers), James Faulkner (Melbourne Stars), Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades), Brad Haddin (Sydney Sixers), Brad Hodge (Melbourne Stars), Brad Hogg (Perth Scorchers), Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars), James Muirhead (Melbourne Stars), Mitchell Johnson (Brisbane Heat), Mitchell Starc (Sydney Sixers), David Warner (Sydney Thunder), Shane Watson (Brisbane Heat), Cameron White (Melbourne Stars).

James Faulkner and George Bailey were yesterday named in the Australian T20 squad.  Picture: GETTY IMAGES

James Faulkner and George Bailey were yesterday named in the Australian T20 squad. Picture: GETTY IMAGES


Discuss "Bailey, Faulkner selected"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.