Tassie women grab pursuit gold

ADELAIDE - Tasmania has broken Western Australia's domination of the women's team pursuit in a nail-biting final at the Australian track cycling championships.

WA had won the past six titles in the event, but lost a rider early in the gold medal ride. After being behind throughout the 4000-metre event, Tasmania won by just nine one-thousandths of a second.

Race judges double-checked the result before awarding the gold medal to Amy Cure, Georgia Baker, Lauren Perry and Macey Stewart. This is the first time Tasmania has won the women's team pursuit.

South Australia caught New South Wales in the ride-off for bronze. 

Also last night, Anna Meares and Matthew Glaetzer overcame heavy training schedules to win the sprint titles.

Meares won track's blue riband event for the seventh time at the nationals, giving her an amazing 31 Australian titles.

Glaetzer, a rising star on the track, won the senior sprint for the first time. 

Macey Stewart, Georgia Baker, Amy Cure and Lauren Perry

Macey Stewart, Georgia Baker, Amy Cure and Lauren Perry