Upper House election dates announced

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission has released the schedule for Legislative Council elections for the seats of Rosevears and Huon.

TEC electoral commissioner Julian Type said that it was expected that Governor Peter Underwood will issue writs for the following dates:

Monday, March 31 at 6pm: Issue of writs and close of electoral rolls

Thursday, April 10 at 12pm: Nominations close

Friday, April 11 at 12pm: Announcement of nominations

Saturday, May 3, 8am to 6pm: Polling day.

Huon is the southern-most Legislative Council division and contains the Huon Valley municipal area and most of the Kingborough municipal area except Kingston, Kingston Beach, Bonnet Hill and Taroona. 

Rosevears contains the West Tamar municipal area and western parts of Launceston City. 

Voting is compulsory in these divisions.


Discuss "Upper House election dates announced"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.