Bailey named Australian one day skipper

TASMANIAN skipper George Bailey has this morning been named Australia's one day captain for the first two one day internationals against Sri Lanka.

Michael Clarke will miss due to his hamstring worries.

Bailey, who has captained Australia's Twenty20 captain, averages 40.09 from 13 one day internationals, scoring more runs than any other Australian in that period.

Spinner Xavier Doherty has joined Bailey in the squad.

Tasmanian wicketkeeper Tim Paine has missed out on a spot, with Brad Haddin replacing the rested Matthew Wade.

The first match of the series is on Friday at the MCG.

AUSTRALIA:  George Bailey (capt), Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Phil Hughes, David Hussey, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc. 


Discuss "Bailey named Australian one day skipper"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.