Launceston City’s Aaron Campbell and Northern Ranger Harry Thannhauser pick up club best-and-fairest awards

ON CUE: Rangers best-and-fairest winner Harry Thannhauser kicks on, all as City's player-of-the-year Aaron Campbell watches from behind the ball.

ON CUE: Rangers best-and-fairest winner Harry Thannhauser kicks on, all as City's player-of-the-year Aaron Campbell watches from behind the ball.

Launceston City’s ultra consistent Aaron Campbell claimed rare back-to-back Peter Savill Medals during Saturday night’s club awards.

The 27-year-old finished on 19 votes to win the club’s NPL best-and-fairest award by one in front of American striker Dylan Williams.

Underrated Joe Dorazio edged past Scott Mahony to be named City’s Northern Championship best player.

City’s Beth Bygrave polled in nearly all games to take out its women’s SuperLeague award in a landslide 41 vote tally to 19 over Caitlin Storay.

Lucienne Dewsbury was rewarded with the Northern Championship best and fairest from the club’s women’s rising star Chelsea Baker.

QUALITY: Launceston City's star best-and-fairest winners Beth Bygrave and Aaron Campbell celebrate their individual successes. Picture: Supplied

QUALITY: Launceston City's star best-and-fairest winners Beth Bygrave and Aaron Campbell celebrate their individual successes. Picture: Supplied

Northern Rangers talent Harry Thannhauser capped off a stellar NPL season to win its best-and-fairest honour.

The 20-year-old’s award win contradicted this year’s state Mitsubishi Medal count when starring captain Nick Lanau-Atkinson would finish second in the league’s medal.

Twin Pat Lanau-Atkinson was given the nod as the side’s most consistent player.

High school student Jonny Burk flagged his potential, taking home the NPL club’s coaches award, the Northern Championship side’s most consistent and also named the young player of the year.

Daniel Sparshott collected a Northern Championship double, winning its best-and-fairest and coaches award in his fifth Rangers’ season.

Star Emma Langley was rewarded for gifting her side to a Northern Championship women’s premiership.

Langley, who last year was crowned Northern competition’s best female player, added this year’s club best and fairest to her honours.

Somerset has celebrated its outstanding Northern Championship-winning year on Saturday night with seasoned campaigner Kaimon Johnson beating Beau Blizzard to the best player award. 

Mel Smith took out the Sharks women’s championship award from Savannah Fawdry. Devonport City hold its awards night on Friday.


Launceston City

  • Peter Savill Medal for the NPL 2017 Best & Fairest: Aaron Campbell
  • NPL 2017 Runner-Up: Dylan Williams
  • Women’s SuperLeague 2017 Best & Fairest: Beth Bygrave
  • Women’s SuperLeague 2017 Runner-Up: Caitlin Storay
  • Northern Championship 2017 Best & Fairest: Joe Dorazio
  • Northern Championship 2017 Runner-Up: Scott Mahony
  • Northern Championship 1 2017 Best & Fairest: Kale Murphy
  • Northern Championship 1 2017 Runner-Up: Josh Duncan
  • Northern Women’s Championship 2017 Best & Fairest: Lucienne Dewsbury
  • Northern Women’s Championship 2017 Runner-Up: Chelsea Baker
  • Northern U18 Best & Fairest 2017: Charlie Dyer
  • Northern U18 Runner-Up 2017: Kaleb Lyons
  • Club Rising Star: Chelsea Baker and Hayden Simeoni
  • Committee Player of the Year: Lucienne Dewsbury

Northern Rangers

  • NPL Best & Fairest 2017: Harry Thannhauser
  • NPL Golden Boot 2017: Nick Lanau-Atkinson
  • NPL Coaches Award 2017: Jonny Burk
  • NPL Most Consistent 2017: Pat Lanau-Atkinson
  • Northern Championship Best & Fairest 2017: Daniel Sparshott
  • Northern Championship Golden Boot 2017: Adhar Ngor
  • Northern Championship Coaches Award 2017: Daniel Sparshott
  • Northern Championship Most Consistent 2017: Josh Burk
  • Northern Championship Women’s Best & Fairest 2017: Emma Langley
  • Northern Championship Women’s Golden Boot 2017: Emma Langley
  • Northern Championship Women’s Coaches Award 2017: Brittany Donoghue
  • Northern Championship Women’s Most Consistent 2017: Jessica Loft
  • Northern Championship 1 Best & Fairest 2017: Lachlan Medhurst
  • Northern Championship 1 Golden Boot 2017: Marshall Pooley
  • Northern Championship 1 Coaches Award 2017: Caleb Smith
  • Northern Championship 1 Most Consistent 2017: Brodie Kershaw
  • Northern Under-18s Best & Fairest 2017: Liam French
  • Northern Under-18s Golden Boot 2017: Hem Karki
  • Northern Under-18s Coaches Award 2017: Matthew Collins
  • Northern Under 18s Most Consistent 2017: Zharius James
  • Northern Rangers Rising Star 2017: Ari Johnson
  • Northern Rangers Young Player of the Year 2017: Jonny Burk
  • Northern Ranger of the Year 2017: Marshall Pooley
  • Northern Rangers Newcomer of the Year 2017: Angela Sciulli
  • Northern Rangers Players’ Player 2017: Jesse Fulton

Launceston United

  • Northern Championship Best & Fairest: William Rodman
  • Northern Championship Runners-Up: Mitch Duffy & Daniel Lewis
  • Northern Championship Golden Boot: Aidan Rigby (22 goals)
  • Northern Championship Coaches Award:  Benjamin Israel
  • Northern Championship 1 Best & Fairest: Andrew Smith
  • Northern Championship Runners-up: Cosmo Bomhof
  • Northern Championship Golden Boot: Jason Krushka (9 goals)
  • Northern Championship Players’ Player: Andrew Smith
  • Northern Championship Coaches Award: Luke Brown
  • Northern Championship Women’s Best & Fairest: Emily Heazlewood
  • Northern Championship Women’s Runners-Up: Dani Gunton
  • Northern Championship Women’s Golden Boot: Dani Gunton (27 goals)
  • Northern Championship Women’s Players’ Player: Skye Van Asch & Karla Jones
  • Northern Championship Women’s Coaches Award: Megan Johnstone
  • Northern Championship Women’s Most Improved: Brooke Kirkland
  • Northern Championship Women’s Development Award: Anny Gray
  • Northern Championship Under-18s Best & Fairest: Fahim Moradi
  • Northern Championship Under-18s Runners-Up: Matthew Spanos
  • Northern Championship Under-18s Golden Boot: Darlyton Echetama (24 goals)
  • Northern Championship Under-18s Coaches Award: Tom McTigue & Dylan Pearce
  • Northern Championship Under-18s Most Improved: Justin Heazlewood

Riverside Olympic

  • Northern Championship Player of the Year: Rohan Fenner
  • Northern Championship 1 Player of the Year: Sam Baron
  • Northern Championship Women's Player of the Year: Sheena Rawlinson
  • Northern Championship Under-18 Player of the Year: Lucas Souter
  • President’s Award: Tay Nielsen & Steve Davis
  • Golden Boot: Lucas Souter & Harry Jago
  • Most improved: Josh Taylor & Veronica Harvey
  • Most promising, under-21: Jarod Hill
  • Clubman of the Year: Jamie Colgrave

Somerset Sharks

  • Northern Championship Best & Fairest: Kaimon Johnson
  • Northern Championship Runners-Up: Beau Blizzard
  • Northern Championship Women’s Best & Fairest: Mel Smith
  • Northern Championship Women’s Runners-Up: Savannah Fawdry
  • Northern Championship 1 Best & Fairest: Matt Jordan
  • Northern Championship 1 Runner-Up: Jackson Berne
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide