Sushames blasts off for round 1 wins

ULVERSTONE rider Kurt Sushames claimed the endurance crown for the opening round of the Tasmanian Motorcycle Club's 2014 championship after winning both races at Symmons Plains on the weekend.

Sushames proved too good on his 2012 Suzuki GSXR 1000 winning the opening one-hour race in the 600cc and unlimited class on Saturday and successfully backing up to make it a double victory by taking out the second round yesterday.

Sushames piloted his Suzuki around the Symmons Plains circuit completing 62 laps with a fastest lap of 57.393 seconds recorded on lap 24.

The Hobart pair of Rod Garrett and Chris Price had a consistent weekend's racing finishing third in Saturday's race and moving up one spot on the podium with a second place yesterday.

They combined to record 60 laps in the hour race yesterday on their 2007 Honda CBR 1000 with a fastest lap of 59.836.

Hobart's Boyd Witzerman finished third in yesterday's round on his 2008 Honda CBR 600 and claimed the 600cc endurance title for his weekend's work.

Devonport's Brad Wootton could not repeat last year's winning form, which saw him take out the unlimited one-hour crown managing a second place in Saturday's race and a fourth yesterday on his 2011 Suzuki GSXR 1000.

Wootton had mechanical issues and was forced back into the pits before resuming on a period-six historic bike kindly loaned to him by Karen Webb to finish the race.

He had some consolation by recording the fastest lap time of 56.832 before his bike problems.

Turners Beach rider Bill Burford claimed the endurance title for the historic class finishing second in Saturday's half-hour enduro and winning yesterday's race on his 1981 Suzuki GSX 1166.

Burford completed 28 laps in a time of 48:06.104 with a fastest lap of 1:03.719.

Westbury's Peter Booth claimed a second place following on from his third on Saturday on his 1990 Suzuki GSXR 750.

Turners Beach's Dave McCullagh was third on a similar bike after taking out Saturday's race.

Queenslander Ashleigh Skyring claimed the 500cc class endurance title.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide