Great expectations

THE Tasmanian rowing team for the Australian Youth Olympic Festival has received a big wrap from those in the know.

Team coach, Rowing Tasmania development officer and five-time Olympian Anthony Edwards believes the 20-strong team that will compete in Sydney in January is capable of unprecedented results.

"It's probably the best state team we've assembled during my time in Tasmania, and we're confident we can get good results with the group," Edwards said.

"It's the first time we've been strong enough as a team to compete across the board.

"Eleni Kalimnios represented Australia at the world juniors, so should be a strong contender, added to the power of Jackson Koster emerging from rugby and learning the ropes.

"It's a great opportunity to have them all together and start them on the pathway to success."

Edwards said the team would benefit from the coaching skills of North Esk's Deon Birtwistle and Tamar's Ken Davey, assisted by Mark Stott and Graham Scattergood.

"We're also pretty happy with the coaching group," Edwards said.

"Ken is very well known in rowing circles and has coached at under-23 world championship level, while Deon has represented Australia, winning a silver medal in the lightweight quad at the world championships in Milan in 2003, and has always been a strong Penrith Cup rower for Tasmania.

"Mark and Graham are also two good emerging coaches."

The team will gather in early January for a camp at Franklin, along with prospective members for the interstate regatta being held alongside the world cup in Sydney in March.

Tasmania's Youth Olympics rowing team:

Rob Prescott (manager), Anthony Edwards (coach)

Men: Deon Birtwistle (North Esk, coach), Mark Stott (Tasmanian University, coach), Erik Rowan (Huon, single sculls), Jackson Koster (North Esk, single sculls), Toby Pitt (Huon, lightweight double sculls), Declan Martin (Huon, lightweight double sculls), Wilson Mure (Huon, pair), Tobias Tenbensel (Huon, pair), Liam Williams (Mersey, pair), Richard Giblin (Huon, pair), Alex Hall (Hutchins, cox), Mitchell Digney (North Esk, reserve).

Women: Ken Davey (Tamar, coach), Graham Scattergood (Mersey, coach), Eleni Kalimnios (Friends/Huon, single sculls), Shanyce Kitson (Bucks, single sculls), Monique Clark (Tamar, lightweight double sculls), Jemma Groateas (New Norfolk, lightweight double sculls), Alice Matson (LCGS/Tamar, pair), Fiona Anderson (Bucks, pair), Louisa Seddon (Bucks, pair), Abbie Crow (Bucks, pair), Hannah Kilpatrick (St Pats/North Esk, cox), Rebecca Matson (LCGS/Tamar, reserve).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide